Skip to content

National Register Nominations

National Register Nominations

What is the National Register?

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of buildings, structures, objects, and sites recognized by the National Park Service on behalf of the Secretary of the Interior for their importance to local, state, or national history. Properties must retain their historic integrity and may be recognized for their connections to American history, architecture, archaeology, engineering, or culture.

Authorized under the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Register is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect our historic and archaeological resources. In each state, the program is handled through the State Historic Preservation Office.

If you believe your property is eligible but you have questions or would like more information, please contact Wheeling Heritage for assistance.

National Register
The below map can be used to view the boundaries of the historic districts in Wheeling.